“Suggested By” Indeed

I saw a number of movies this weekend most notably True Legend for Far West inspirado.

I also saw On Stranger Tides. Wait… actually, no I didn’t. I didn’t see Tim Powers’ masterful book On Stranger Tides put on the big screen, the book that made me want to write Skull & Bones. No, I saw Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides a movie that was, as this post’s title notes, “suggested by” Tim’s book.

I hope Tim got a big wad of money for loaning them his title, his bad-guy (one of them… sort of), and kinda his plot, I guess. It wasn’t even that bad of a movie, really… I mean, it wasn’t particularly good either, but it wasn’t atrocious.

Look, do both of us a favor… go read On Stranger Tides, brand new paper copies are now readily available due to the release of the movie (which make a point of saying on them in very small print “suggested the movie picture”) and certainly an electronic copy is a few keystrokes away.

Then you can regret along with me that the existence of this tepid movie means no real adaptation of Tim’s book for another 20 years, if ever.

Published in: on May 22, 2011 at 3:15 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tenfoldshield.wordpress.com/2011/05/22/suggested-by-indeed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

